Guidelines For IELTS

 About IELTS:

IELTS is the International English Language Testing System, the world’s most popular high stakes English language test.

IELTS was the pioneer of English language testing across all four skills (reading, writing, listening and speaking) and continues to set the standard for English language testing today. More than 7,000 organisations worldwide - including higher education institutions, government agencies, professional associations and employers - recognise and accept IELTS scores as a secure, valid and reliable indicator of true-to-life ability to communicate in English.

The IELTS test is designed to assess the language ability of candidates who study or work where English is the language of communication. It is the preferred test of English for students intending to study in Australia, Canada, New Zealand,  UK and  USA.

General Information:

IELTS, the International English Language Testing System, provides an assessment of whether candidates are ready to study or train in the medium of English. It is widely recognized as a language requirement for entry to all courses in further and higher education. The test is held at 11 test centres in India that arrange test administrations according to local demand. The University of Cambridge Local Examinations Syndicate (UCLES), the British Council and IDP Education Australia jointly manage the IELTS.

Academic & General Training Modules:

Candidates must select either the Academic or the General Training Module depending on the stated requirement of their sponsor or receiving institution. The Academic Module assesses whether a candidate is ready to study or train in the medium of English at an undergraduate or postgraduate level. The General Training Module is suitable for candidates who are proceeding to English-speaking countries to complete their secondary education, or who wish to undertake work experience or training programmers at less than degree level, or for immigration purposes to Australia, New Zealand and Canada.

Subjects in the IELTS examination:

It does not matter what subject you are going to study in the future - or have studied in the past - all students taking the desired module do the same test. You will not be tested on your specific knowledge of a subject; only your English language skills are assessed.

Passing in the IELTS examination:

You cannot pass or fail the IELTS examination. The university or college that you wish to enter will inform you of the overall IELTS Band Score they require for enrolment in the particular course you wish to study. Note that you may also need to achieve a minimum score in a particular Sub-test.

For more particulars, visit or contact the nearest office of the British Council.